The Graduate and Professional Student Senate

Meeting of 21 May 2025 at 5:30pm In-person and remotely via Zoom

The following GPSS members and staff attended the meeting:

Richard Schure, GPSS President

Kana Saarni, GPSS Vice President of Internal Affairs

Mykhail Lembke, GPSS Vice President of External Affairs

Edith Dale, GPSS Vice President of Equity & Inclusion

Noah Hough, GPSS Vice President of Administration

Ryan Wicklund, GPSS Vice President of Finance

Annika Peterson, Senate Director

Franco Carlos, GPSS Office and Budget Director, Executive Senator

Vidya Venkappa, GPSS Web Developer

Miles Parker, GPSS Policy Director

Franco Carlos, GPSS Office and Budget Director

Juan Contreras Mora, GPSS Events Director

Claudia Chan, GPSS Communications Director

Jordynn Hays, University Affairs Director

Zoe Stylianides, ASUW Director of Internal Policy

Ella Spurlock, Executive Senator

Francis Choe, Executive Senator

Beth Fawcett, Executive Senator

Pavandeep Josan, Executive Senator

Hannah Shipman, Executive Senator

Gaurav Joshi, Executive Senator

Renee Infelise, SAO Advisor

Christina Cook, SAO Advisor

Carrie Moore, SAO Advisor

Bill Mahoney, Associate Dean of Student and Postdoctoral Affairs

Marshall Traverse, SAO Advisor

1. [Action] Call to Order 5:46pm

Richard Schure called the meeting to order at 5:46pm.

2. [Action] Approval of the Agenda 5:46pm

Beth Fawcett proposed to amend the sponsor for agenda item 9. **Selbi Orayeva** seconded. No objections. Motion passed. 5:47pm

Noah Hough moved to approve the agenda as amended. **Pavandeep Josan** seconded. No objections. 5:48pm

3. [Information] Land Acknowledgement 5:48pm

Pavandeep Josan, on behalf of GPSS, gave the land acknowledgement.

"Every community owes its existence and vitality to generations from around the world who contributed to making the history that led to this moment. Indigenous people have lived here continuously since time immemorial, and Seattle is now a highly cosmopolitan territory with overlapping sovereignties and fidelities. Acknowledging the land we are on is only the first step. Therefore, the Graduate and Professional Student Senate at the University of Washington in Seattle acknowledges the coast Salish people of this land, the land which touches the shared waters of all tribes and bands within the Squamish, Tulalip, and Muckleshoot nations and all traditional lands on which we learn and work."

She shared resources within UW and the community; these include Legislative Advisory Board, Washington Student Association, UW Intellectual House, ASUW American Indian Student Commission, Native and Strong Lifeline-988, Stand with the Duwamish, and Real Rent Duwamish.

4. [Information] Announcements & Public Comment 5:49pm

UW Alumni Association Representative shared an update to GPSS.

5. [Information] GPSS 2025-2026 Special Election Candidate Presentations 5:57pm

Alec Solemslie presented the Elections procedure.

Alec Solemslie opened the floor to nominations.

Margarita Smagina nominated Yoseph Ghazal. (indiscernible) seconded. No objections. Motion passed. 6:01pm

Stephen Dada self-nominated. Janet Olaolu seconded. No objections. Motion passed. 6:03pm

GPSS Officer Candidates presented their campaign speeches and answered questions from the senate.

Mykhail Lembke moved to table officer questions indefinitely. **Noah Hough** seconded. No objections. Motion passed. 7:26pm

Joe Rogge moved to recess for five minutes. **Mykhail Lembke** seconded. No objections. Motion passed. 7:29pm

6. [Information] GPSS Election Candidate Discussion 7:35pm

Alec Solemslie presented the candidate discussion procedure and opened the floor for deliberation.

7. [Action] GPSS 2025-2026 Election Voting 8:01pm

Alec Solemslie presented the voting procedure.

8. [Information] Approval of the Minutes

This agenda item is tabled.

9. [Action] Bylaws Amendment 8:39pm

GPSS Officers and Senators presented proposals for bylaw revisions.

10. [Action] GPSS FY 2026 Budget Projection 8:47pm

Ryan Wicklund presented the budget projection.

11. [Information] GPSS 2025-2026 Special Election Result 9:05

Alec Solemslie presented the election result.

12. [Information] Senator of the Month 8:58pm

Edith Dale announced Janet Olaolu as GPSS May senator of the month. She read the proclamation celebrating her work.

13. [Action] Senator of the Year 9:01pm

Noah Hough shared the voting form for senator of the year.

11. [Action] Adjournment 9:07pm

Mykhail Lembke moved to adjourn the meeting. **Noah Hough** seconded. No objections. 9:07pm

Meeting minutes prepared by Annika Peterson, GPSS Senate Director